Bhubaneswar Buzz

Indian Womens Hockey Team – Odisha again dominates the list


Hockey India today announced the Indian Women Hockey Squad for the upcoming Hawke’s Bay Cup to be played in New Zealand from the 11th – 19th April 2015. The tournament will witness India, Argentina, Australia, China, Japan, Korea, USA and New Zealand battling it out to win the upcoming and all important tournament.

Playing their first match on 11th April 2015 against China, the Indian Women Hockey Team is all set and motivated for the upcoming challenge which awaits them in New Zealand. The team will yet again be led by Captain Ritu Rani who will be supported by Vice-Captain Deepika.

Training under Roelant Oltmans, Director, High Performance, Hockey India the team is aiming to win and claim the title as they understand that this will help them gear up for the all important Hockey World League Semi Final in Belgium.

The Hawke’s Bay will be played from 11 April 2015 – 19 April 2015 and eight teams will be seen fighting it out for the title. India will play their first match against China at 6.00 AM ISTon 11 April 2015.

Odisha has 4 players out of 18 Sunita Lakra, Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz, Deep Grace Ekka.


1.       Savita

2.       Rajni Etimarpu


3.       Deep Grace Ekka

4.       Deepika

5.       Sunita Lakra

6.       Sushila Chanu

7.       M. N. Ponnamma

8.       Monika


9.     Ritu Rani

10.   Namita Toppo

11.   Lilima Minz

12.   Liliy Chanu

13.   Navjot Kaur

14.   Sondarya Yendala


15.   Vandana Katariya

16.   Rani

17.   Poonam Rani

18.   Anuradha Thockchom