Bhubaneswar Buzz

Odisha are national champion in football Sub-Junior National Championship, win it in style without a single loss

Pic Courtesy : AIFF old pic

Odisha emerged champions in the football Sub-Junior National Championship on Saturday as they defeated the hosts Arunachal Pradesh 5-4 on penalties after the match ended in a 0-0 draw.

After overcoming heavyweights Mizoram in the semi-finals, the hosts gave a tough fight to Odisha in the final but fell one short in the penalty shootout. With the win, Odisha have completed the tournament without losing a single match.

Odisha, which was placed in Group A alongside Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra, Punjab, and runners-up Arunachal Pradesh, came out with flying colours in the group stage. They beat Tamil Nadu 3-0, Maharashtra 4-2, the hosts Arunachal Pradesh 1-0, and got a 1-1 draw against Punjab.

The sequence of results pitted them against the second-placed Jharkhand from Group B in the semi-final.

In a derby between the two neighbouring states from the eastern regions of the country, Odisha maintained the upper hand over Jharkhand, registering a convincing 6-2 margin.