Bhubaneswar Buzz

With 25% of total Odisha women continue to dominate national hockey team, 5 got selected

Hockey India on Thursday announced the 20-member Indian Senior Women’s team who will tour New Zealand for a Five-Match Test Series to be played at Midlands starting May 14.

The team will be captained by striker Rani while Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, who is making a comeback after nearly eight months of rehabilitation due to an injury, will shoulder the duties of vice-captain.
The team includes a mix of experienced and the young with the defence line formed by Deep Grace Ekka, Udita, Sunita Lakra, Namita Toppo, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam and Gurjit Kaur who also doubles up as the team’s only drag flicker. The goal will be kept by Savita who had a fantastic outing at the Women’s Hockey World League Round 2 where she was adjudged the goal keeper of the tournament. Rajani Etimarpu will travel as the second goal keeper in the team.
The midfield will be formed by the experienced Ritu Rani, Lilima Minz, Navjot Kaur, Monika, Renuka Yadav, Nikki Pradhan and Reena Khokar. The forwardline features Rani, Vandana Katariya, Preeti Dubey, Sonika and Anupa Barla.

Odisha players are namely: Deep Grace Ekka, Sunita Lakra and Namita Toppo, midfielder Lilima Minz and striker Anupa Barla