Bhubaneswar Buzz

Five cities from Odisha listed by Center for Smart Cities

smart city project india bbsrbuzz

The Union Cabinet today approved 100 Smart City Projects. The Smart City vision was announced by Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley in the first Union Budget of NDA government in July last year.

‘Smart City’ is an initiative by Prime Minister Narendra Modi to take the pressure off Indian metros. Ahead of general election last year, Modi had promised 100 smart cities by 2022 to help meet the rush.

Five cities from Odisha have found place in the list of 100 cities approved by the Union Cabinet on Wednesday to be developed into smart cities. They are Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Rourkela, Sambalpur and Baleswar.

Also Read: NTPC to build world class ITI institute in Ganjam Odisha